Amravati Division Information

Amravati Division also known as Varhad is an Indian one of the six administrative divisions of Maharashtra state in India. Amravati and Nagpur divisions constitute the ancient Vidarbha region. Amravati Division is bound by Madhya Pradesh state to the north, Nagpur Division to the east, Telangana state to the southeast, Marathwada region to the south and southwest, and Nashik Division to the west.

Area: 46,090 km²
Population (2011 census): 2,888,445
Districts: Akola, Amravati, Buldhana, Washim, Yavatmal
Largest City: Amravati
Literacy: 93.03%
Area under irrigation: 2,582.02 km²
Railways: broad gauge 249 km, meter gauge 227 km, narrow gauge 188 km.

Amravati is a city in the state of Maharashtra, India and the seventh most populous metropolitan area in Maharashtra. It is also the administrative headquarters of the Amravati district. Among the historical landmarks in the city are the temples of Amba, Shri Krishna, and Shri Venkateshwara.

Amravati division roughly corresponds to the former province of Berar, which was ruled by the Maratha Maharajas of Nagpur till 1803. In 1853, it was occupied by the British, who decided to administer the province although it remained under the nominal sovereignty of the Nizam of Hyderabad. In 1903 Berar Province was renamed Berar Division and added to the British-administered Central Provinces, which in 1936 was renamed Central Provinces and Berar. Upon Indian independence, the Central Provinces and Berar were reorganised as the Indian state of Madhya Pradesh. In 1956 the Indian states were reorganised on linguistic grounds, and Amravati and Nagpur divisions were transferred to Bombay State, which was split on linguistic lines into the states Maharashtra and Gujarat in 1960.

Amravati city is the largest city in the division followed by Akola and Yavatmal cities. Chikhaldara, the only hill station in Vidarbha region, is situated in Amravati District. Also the famous Melghat Tiger Reserve is situated in Amravati and Akola districts.